Past Captains

Back (Left to Right): Derek Turner Davis, Sandy Shingler, John Wilkinson, Glen Cowie, Bob Mountain and Brian Ladd Front (Left to Right): Alan Hazelhurst, Tony Godfrey and Albert Craddock

In 1988, four ardent golfers, who were members of the IGS Golf Society in Malaga, but lived in Nerja, decided that a society entirely devoted to the sport of golf was necessary in this area.

So, word got around, and a meeting was called inviting fellow aficionados to form a golf society. From this meeting, 35 people formed the society known as the GINS.

Alan Hazlehurst was the first Captain, incidentally, the meeting was held in his bar, the Upstairs Downstairs Bar, and Ken Hanks became the Treasurer and 1000 pesetas was set as the annual membership fee. He gave himself the last number, 35, and still has that membership number to this day.

The other two founder members, the late Dickie Williams and the late Tony Godfrey were also on the committee. Alan designed the logo and his wife Anne Marie and Tony’s wife Jacky suggested the name G.I.N.S. The Golf International Nerja Society.

The first rule of the Society was and still is, is that ‘it exists for the enjoyment of golf by anyone wishing to play it in and around the Nerja area of Spain’.

For the first three or four years the membership averaged about 175. However after 1994 they peaked at an amazing 700, settling to a more reasonable level of over 250 today.

The executive committee elected annually at the AGM in March oversees the Society’s operations and at the present time, weekly competitions are organised by the three GINS Course Representatives and are held at Añoreta (Mondays), Baviera (Tuesdays) and Los Moriscos (Fridays). Additional matches are arranged on a monthly basis at golf courses in the Granada area. We also hold various functions each year, the main ones being our popular Quiz Night and the Captain´s Dinner Dance held annually in March. There is also a four to five day golfing holiday organised each year.

President's Day Winner

Derek Turner Davis with Brian Ladd and Tony Godfrey

GINS Role of Honour

Rob Nicholson

Sam Rose

Bob Mountain

Pam More

Rita McCracken

Bill McCracken

Kate Mason

Bridget Lloyd-Edwards

Judy Howard

Bryan Howard

Nan Cowie

Past Captains

2020 – 2021    Gill Green

2019 – 2020    Terry Everett

2018 – 2019    Erica Oxford

2017 – 2018    John Conlan

2016 – 2017    Peter Lomas

2015 – 2016    Russell Dick

2014 – 2015    Karen Nuttall

2013 – 2014    Derek Geelon

2012 – 2013    Ray Craig

2011 – 2012    Roger Willoughby

2010 – 2011    Ian Paterson

2009 – 2010    Rita McCracken

2008 – 2009    Steve Colbridge

2007 – 2008    Mike Elsey

2006 – 2007    S Lawson


Past Captains

2005 – 2006    Alan Lloyd-Edwards

2004 – 2005    B Chadbourn

2003 – 2004    Keith Taylor

2002 – 2003    T Nicholls

2001 – 2002    M Shaw

2000 – 2001    Glen Cowie

1999 – 2000    Brian Ladd

1998 – 1999    Brian Ladd

1997 – 1998    Bob Mountain

1996 – 1997    Glen Cowie

1995 – 1996    John Wilkinson

1994 – 1995    Sandy Shingler

1993 – 1994    Tony Godfrey

1992 – 1993    Derek Turner-Davis

1991 – 1992    Albert Craddock

1990 – 1991    Tony Godfrey

1989 – 1990    Alan Hazlehurst